Harmony Healthcare Blog

HIV/AIDS State Coding Prohibited

Posted by Kris Mastrangelo on Thu, Jul 11, 2019

Edited by Kris Mastrangelo


Compliance • Audits/Analysis • Reimbursement/Regulatory/Rehab • Education/Efficiency

Office folder with inscription Rules on Office Desktop with Office Supplies. Business Concept on Blurred Background. Toned Image.There are 16 states with laws that prevent healthcare providers from reporting HIV/AIDS diagnosis information to CMS through the current MDS Assessment System and/or prevent CMS from seeing said diagnosis within that system.

  1. Alabama
  2. Alaska
  3. California
  4. Colorado
  5. Connecticut
  6. Idaho
  7. Illinois
  8. Massachusetts
  9. Nevada
  10. New Hampshire
  11. New Jersey
  12. New Mexico
  13. South Carolina
  14. Texas
  15. Washington
  16. West Virginia

New call-to-action

Harmony Healthcare International (HHI) is available to assist with any questions or concerns that you may have.  You can contact us by clicking here.  Looking to train your staff?  Join us in person at one of our our upcoming Competency/Certification Courses.  Click here to see the dates and locations. 

New Call-to-action

Tags: HIV

Subscribe to The HHI Blog

Posts by Topic

see all
New Call-to-action
New Call-to-action

Stay connected!